MPR Board of Trustees

September 2021

Officers of the Board

  • Jim Dwyer, Chair

  • Mary Brainerd, Vice Chair

  • Rick King, Second Vice Chair

  • Jean Taylor, President

  • Sima Griffith, Secretary

  • Dr. Larry Berger, Treasurer


The year Trustee joined MPR’s Board of Trustees is denoted in parenthesis

  • Vivek Agrawal, Senior Partner, McKinsey & Co. (2019)

  • Jeannine Befidi, Vice President, Global Employee Communications, Ceridian (2021)

  • Wendy Bennett, Consultant to Foundations in Global Health (2015)

  • Dr. Larry Berger, Executive Vice President & CTO, Ecolab (2014)

  • Mary Brainerd, Former CEO, Health Partners (2014)

  • Julie Causey, Chairman Emeritus, Western Bank (2017)

  • Jim Dwyer, Chairman of the Board, 8th Ave Food & Provisions (2013)

  • Ivan Fong, Executive Vice President, Chief Legal & Policy Officer & Secretary, 3M Company (2014)

  • Sid Gandhi, SVP & Chief Strategy and Enterprise Technology Officer, Securian Financial Group (2019)

  • Sima Griffith, Managing Principal, Aethlon Capital LLC (2017)

  • Shawntera Hardy, Founder & Chief Strategy Officer, PolicyGrounds Consulting (2019)

  • Kandace Heck, Executive Vice President & Chief Audit Executive, U.S. Bank (2020)

  • Libby Hlavka, President, Driscoll Foundation (2017)

  • Dr Kenneth Holmen, President & CEO, CentraCare Health (2018)

  • Omar Ishrak, Executive Chairman & Chairman of the Board, Medtronic Inc. (2016)

  • Rick King, Retired Executive, Thomson Reuters (2011)

  • Jonathan Low, Predictiv Consulting (2014)

  • Nancy Lyons, President & CEO, Clockwork (2014)

  • Drew Murphy, Senior Vice President, Strategy & Corporate Development, Edison International (2020)

  • Liwanag Ojala, Former CEO, CaringBridge (2016)

  • Michael Palmer, President, Winslow Capital (2021)

  • Bryan Phillips, SVP, General Counsel & Secretary, Chief Compliance Officer, Inspire Medical Systems, Inc. (2021)

  • Nii-Ayite Quaye, Vice President, Vermilion Group, M.A. Mortensen (2016)

  • Patricia S Simmons, MD, Professor, Executive, and Trustee Emeritus, Mayo Clinic (2014)

  • Jean Taylor, President & CEO, American Public Media Group (2013)

  • Mandy Tuong, President & CEO, Thrivent Charitable Impact & Investing (2021)

Active Life Trustees

  • Susan Boren King, Retired Partner, Spencer Stuart

  • Ian Friendly, Retired COO, General Mills

  • Randall J Hogan

  • Addison (Tad) Piper, Retired Chairman & CEO, Piper Sandler Companies, Inc.

  • Steven M Rothschild, Founder & Chair Emeritus, Twin Cites Rise

Honorary Life Trustees

  • William Pearce (1988)

  • Joanne Von Blon (1975-83, 1986)

President Emeritus, Minnesota Public Radio

  • William H Kling (1967)

Note: Members of the Board can be reached by mail c/o Minnesota Public Radio, 480 Cedar Street, St. Paul, MN 55101.

Public Information and Opportunities

Minnesota Public Radio Board of Trustee meetings and Advisory Council meetings are open to the public. Find schedules for specific dates, times and locations for advisory council meetings. All board and committee meetings are held at The Kling Public Media Center, 480 Cedar Street in St Paul.