Congratulations to MPR's 2020 SPJ Page One Award Winners

Jun 10, 2020

Congratulations to the MPR News, The Current, and Sahan Journal teams who took honors at the 2020 Minnesota Society of Professional Journalists Awards Page One Awards!

Thanks to Chris Graves of MPR News for this compilation. The awards:

Special Awards

Journalist of the Year, Marianne Combs

"Ms. Combs’ work on the decades-old sexual abuse that occurred at the children’s theater was like revealing a piece of history that had been buried. It was obvious that she put a ton of work and compassion into finding and interviewing her subjects and asking them to talk about a sensitive subject. This journalism was a service to the community and to sexual assault survivors everywhere. Well done."

Best Beat Reporting, 1st Place, Riham Feshir

"Feshir’s reporting on immigration — an important topic to everyone in the United States — is hard-hitting and compelling. Excellent work."

 Best Use of Public Records, 2nd Place, Tony Webster 

How Did the Police Know You Were Near a Crime Scene? Google Told Them.

Radio Awards

Spot/Breaking News, 1st Place, Tim Nelson, Matt Sepic, Nancy Lebens and Evan Frost

Missing Teen Jayme Closs Emerged from Woods, Asked Dog Walker for Help

Hard News Report, 1st Place, Elizabeth Shockman, Christine Nguyen, Eric Ringham, Laura McCallum

At Burnsville’s Metcalf Middle School, Racial Slurs Poisoned the Culture

Special Project / In-Depth Series, 2nd Place, The Current, Andrea Swensson, Anna Weggel, Corey Schreppel

Prince: The Story of 1999

Special Project/In-Depth Series, 3rd Place, Megan Burks, Tom Crann and Kyle Shiely

To Tackle the Achievement Gap, You Have to Tackle Bias

Investigative, 1st Place, Marianne Combs, Eric Ringham, Christine Nguyen and Will Lager

Innocence Lost

Newscast, 1st Place, MPR News

Morning Edition 7 a.m. newscast on Nov. 27, 2019

Online Awards

Best website, 1st Place, Staff

Best Single News Story, 1st Place, Mukhtar Ibrahim, Sahan Journal

‘Monster in Our Community’: East African Youth Break the Silence Over Addiction

Mukhtar Ibrahim also received 3rd place for A Northwestern Minnesota County Removed a Somali Mother’s Kids. Somalis Want to Know Why

Best Use of Multimedia, 2nd Place, Tim Nelson, Evan Frost, Simone Cazares, Jiwon Choi

Jingle Dress Tradition

Third place went to MPR / The Current for The Current Rewind Peters Brothers' Anti-Rock Crusade

Best Social Media Account (Institutional), 1st Place, Staff

MPR News Instagram

Best Newsroom Blog, 3rd Place, Paul Huttner, Nicole Mitchell, Bill Enderson, Ron Trenda



Best News Photography, 1st Place, Evan Frost, collection of work

Best Feature Photography, 2nd Place, Christine Nguyen

 "Faces of Minnesota: A Collection" 

Best Portrait Photography, 2nd place, Evan Frost

Change Makers

Best Sports Photography, 2nd Place, Evan Frost,

Lucy Laney Boxing Tournament

See the full list of awards online on