Create a Named Endowment

Establishing a named endowed fund with MPR or American Public Media is a great way to leave a legacy and support the services and programming you love and value most. Named endowment gifts are permanently invested along with the general MPR endowment assets, but are dedicated to specific purposes directed by you. A portion of the fund's value (currently 5%) is distributed each year for the purposes you've designated. Your initial gift remains invested with the objectives of preserving the principal and growing both the fund and distributions in perpetuity.

You can create a named endowed fund that reflects your MPR interests and passions with a commitment of $100,000 or more through lifetime or estate gifts. The endowed fund can reflect the name of the donor or someone the donor wishes to honor or memorialize. Scattums quotation

We are honored and gratified to recognize the following Endowed Funds recently established:

  • David and Shari Boehnen Fund for Classical Performance Programming
  • Therese and James Daniel Fund for Classical MPR
  • Richard and Jean Engebretson Fund for Minnesota Public Radio
  • Marolyn Halverson Fund for Classical and Choral Music
  • George and Jane Hovland MPR Fund for Investigative and Political Journalism
  • William Kling Founders Endowment for the Creative Advancement of Public Media
  • Rita Mueller MPR Fund for Political Journalism
  • Kevin and Leela Joseph Scattum Fund for Classical MPR
  • Penelope Scialla Fund for MPR News Investigative Reporting
  • Irma Wyman Fund for Classical Education
  • Fred J. and Roxanne E. Ziecina Fund for MPR News and STEM Coverage

We can help you explore different ways to create a fund that reflects your MPR interests and passions.

Contact one of our gift officers to learn about options for establishing a named endowed fund with MPR | APM:

Mark Abner, Director, Major and Planned Giving
651-290-1020 | mabner@mpr.org

Steve Crandall, Senior Development Officer
651-290-1266 | scrandall@mpr.org

Deborah Hanson, Principal Gift Officer
651-290-1366 | dhanson@mpr.org

Paul Odegaard, Planned Giving Officer
651-290-1129 | podegaard@mpr.org

Jeff Smith, Development Officer
651-290-1337 | jeff.smith@mpr.org

Joe Thiegs, Senior Planned Giving Officer
651-290-1583 | jthiegs@mpr.org

Jamie Ziemann, Development Officer
651-290-1546 | jziemann@mpr.org

Other endowment support opportunities

You can make a planned gift of any size for endowment without establishing your own fund, and you'll be supporting the service you value most.

Some service and programming options for your support include:

  • News
  • Classical
  • The Current
  • Arts and Cultural programs

Contact Joe Thiegs or Paul Odegaard to learn more about endowment gift options.